Engine

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Engine / Electric verses Gas Motors on C22

Author Electric verses Gas Motors on C22
Sands Herrin
Brunswick, GA

Boat Name: Cat Tales

Model/Year: C22/84

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Brunswick
03/17/2004 12:17 PM Pacific Time

I am interested in replacing the motor on my C22 and am interested in possibly using an electric motor. Does anyone have any comparisons of electric verses gas/ what about electric setups and battery charging?
Thanks, Sands Herrin (Cat Tales)
Dick King
Melbourne, FL

Boat Name: Twilight Zone

Model/Year: Sport/2005

Hull No. 15546

Hailing Port: Melbourne, FL
03/17/2004 2:36 PM Pacific Time

I have no experience with electric motors, but I would think to get the power and torque of a 6HP 4 Stroke, you would need a hefty electric motor AND a lot of storage batteries. I ran my 6HP O/B for about two hours last Sunday and used very little fuel. Much less fuel weight than the batteries to power an electric motor.
mark miller
deatsville al

Boat Name: blue heron

Model/Year: catalina 22 1977

Hull No. 7309

Hailing Port: lake jordan
04/19/2004 3:35 PM Pacific Time

Sands, I built a 27' sharpie(chessie flyer from GlennL Marine) that weighed about 4000 lbs, which is a good bit heavier than our Catalina 22's, but, with a 70lb thrust trolling motor at full blast, she would only do about 2-3 knots. Need I tell you what happened in the bay at Destin,Fl when we were trying to get back to the dock upwind with the tide coming in? Let's put it this way...we got back and the next morning it was too foggy to sail, so we went looking at the local West Marine for a 4-stroke outboard. We ended up getting an 8-hp Honda($2000) but we have never had to worry about tides or currents or headwinds since. And the Honda pushes our 22 nicely with power to spare. Just a recomendation.
Lance Anderson
Kenai, Alaska

Boat Name:

Model/Year: 1973

Hull No. 2367

Hailing Port: Kenai, Alaska