Standing Rigging / Spars

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Standing Rigging / Spars / Forestay, Backstay, Shrouds

Author Forestay, Backstay, Shrouds
Jim
Kaukauna, WI

Boat Name: Tyderium

Model/Year: 72

Hull No. 822

Hailing Port:
06/04/2013 7:55 PM Pacific Time

Is there any reason to upgrade the cable sizes to something stronger? Lets say you upgraded everything to 3/16, it would be much stronger?
Reggie Keith
Houston, TX

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No. 1803

Hailing Port: Galveston, TX
06/05/2013 8:41 AM Pacific Time

I have been sailing a C22 for over 15 years and never had a problem with the stays. Two years ago I replace the stays and chain plates just for the heck of it.

On saturday I was sailing in Galveston Bay and got caught in a freak thunderstorm with very high winds. I would estimate at over 50 mph. I did not get the sails down in time and had a very interesting 30 minutes with the boat in excess of 45 degrees several times.

The only damage was the loss of a forestay. It parted at the swage entrance on the lower side. I am not sure if this was due to an overload, corrosion or a combination. However I suspect corrosion to be the main culprit.

So while I do not see any disadvantage to a larger diameter, it would be difficult to state that the added cost would be beneficial. However this is a boat and if you do not want to spend money you should sell the boat!

Bottom line I think the standard stay wires are more than sufficient if maintained and you do not do stupid thing like I did.

Kevin M. Morton
Sacramento, Ca

Boat Name: Serenity

Model/Year: 1976 C27SR

Hull No. 2366

Hailing Port: Richmond, Ca
06/05/2013 10:09 AM Pacific Time