Running Rigging

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Running Rigging / Question About Boomvang installation?

Author Question About Boomvang installation?
Michael Slattery
Rochester, NY

Boat Name: Ventosus

Model/Year: 1982

Hull No. 10xxx

Hailing Port: Rochester, NY
06/20/2005 1:51 PM Pacific Time

Hello, I'm new to the Catalina 22 and the Previous Owner was unsure how the boomvang he had was installed.

Please take a moment and view my pictures at http://www.sncsoftware.com/c22/c22help.htm and let me know what you think.

Thanks,
Mike Slattery
Garrett
Phoenix, AZ

Boat Name: "Sting"

Model/Year: C22 1974

Hull No. 3627

Hailing Port: Lake Pleasant, AZ
06/20/2005 2:05 PM Pacific Time

Hi,

The boom vang is not installed too badly, on mine, from CD, the U-Shaped part is on the boom, with a through bolt so it is more secure than simply an eyelet screwed into the boom.

The cam cleats appear to me to be two (one on each side) for the traveler adjustment. The other two perhaps are for a tiller tamer, to hold the tiller in position when singlehanding....

Just my .02

Garrett
Ken Palmer
Franklin, TN.

Boat Name: "Last Penny"

Model/Year: 1981

Hull No. 10475

Hailing Port: PPYC
06/20/2005 2:22 PM Pacific Time

the vang should be attached at 45*, looking at the picture its not. its also a 6 - 1 not the normal 4 -1, It appears that he used part of 12-1 backstay adjustment system for the vang. The current way its attached would hinder the use of a bimini top if you ever decided to use one. Its hard to tell but it appears that the traverler car is missing, a line would tie off on the tangs at the base of the traveler run to the car and back to the blocks. If you haven't got a C/D hand book I suggest you call and order one, you will find the drawings will answer a lot of you questions and help you with the missing parts on your boat.
Good Luck,
Dick King
Melbourne, FL

Boat Name: Twilight Zone

Model/Year: Sport/2005

Hull No. 15546