Standing Rigging / Spars

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Standing Rigging / Spars / Capri Mast....

Author Capri Mast....
Rod Sorenson
Sacramento

Boat Name: Clyde

Model/Year: Capri 22, 1985

Hull No. 143

Hailing Port: Sacramento
05/17/2006 10:17 AM Pacific Time

Can a Capri guy post here???? I recently purchased a 1985 Capri 22. I am new to boats of this size and I have a question.

In the back side of the mast there is a window where the main is bent on. On my boat this is about twelve inches above the boom. While this is a convenient position for stringing the main, it is very inconvenient for reefing and lowering the main, when the keys traversed the window, they want to fall out.

Is this just the way it was ment to be? Being an older boat, perhaps the mast has been replaced with a, not to exact, replacement.

Your response is apreciated.
Bayard Gross
Greenwich, CT

Boat Name: Baby Blue

Model/Year: 1981

Hull No. 9911

Hailing Port: Greenwich, CT
05/17/2006 7:09 PM Pacific Time

Rod:

Wish I had a Capri22.

Nevertheless, call the keys slugs, and yea they do fall out of that slot in the mast unless you put in a sail stop above the slot.

The sail stop is a small aluminum cylinder that fits inside the sail groove and has a large knob that screws onto a threaded stud on the cylinder and by that generates tension to hold it onto the mast and just above the sail slot on the mast.

However, main sail jack lines and main sail tack reefing lines get hung up on the large knob of the sail stop and using the “boom stop” that Catalina Direct sells is preferable. This boom stop is a cylinder into which one inserts a pan head screw. The head of the screw holds the “boom stop” in place against the mast. The main sail jack line and tack reefing line will not get hung up on the head of this screw.

Please see an example on my boat at:

http://tinyurl.com/76ru6

sixth picture down

The boom stop that Catalina Direct sells: