Running Rigging

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Running Rigging / Rigging

Author Rigging
connie
marion, ma

Boat Name: polliwog

Model/Year: 1973 swing keel

Hull No. 2599

Hailing Port: marion, ma
06/05/2006 10:32 AM Pacific Time

I am a new owner of an old Catalina. I am a novice sailor and am having a hard time figuring out where things go. In particular, I cannot seem to figure out how to attach the boom, 8:1 blocks to the stern pulpit. Can anyone help me or send a good photo?
paul osborne
Lima NY

Boat Name: Emy Lyn II

Model/Year: 1984

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Rochester
06/05/2006 11:20 AM Pacific Time

Connie, Hi, you are at the right place. A bit confused , the boom main is norm
a 3: 1 or 4:1 and is attached to the travler, the bar just above the tiller.
connie
marion, ma

Boat Name: polliwog

Model/Year: 1973 swing keel

Hull No. 2599

Hailing Port: marion, ma
06/05/2006 7:14 PM Pacific Time

Paul-
I am used to sailing on a J 24. After I read your message, I went down to the boat and saw that the ratio is not 8:1, but 4:1. I Used the bar on the stern pulpit. I think that is what you meant. Thanks for replying. The main sheets look a little crooked. Is this OK? Any chance of a photo of your rig?
paul osborne
Lima NY

Boat Name: Emy Lyn II

Model/Year: 1984

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Rochester
06/06/2006 5:24 AM Pacific Time

Connie, if you go to Chip Ford's page there are a lot of pics of his boat and the main sheet and the traveler. http://www.chipford.com/index.htm
Stefan Damstrom

Boat Name: Delfina sold!

Model/Year: C22mK2 / 1987

Hull No. 14306 sold :-(

Hailing Port:
06/06/2006 11:35 AM Pacific Time

Also worth seeing is Dale Mack's update at : http://catalina22fleet20.home.comcast.net/news/rpts/200009/200009.htm#DoubleEndedMainsheet

Bill Reed
Palm Desert/San Pedro, CA

Boat Name: Makai

Model/Year: 27/1979

Hull No.

Hailing Port: San Pedro, CA
05/27/2008 11:04 AM Pacific Time