Safety

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Safety / How far can this C-22 heal before capsize.

Author How far can this C-22 heal before capsize.
Christopher Dube
Mansfield Texas

Boat Name: Gypsey Girl

Model/Year: C-22 1977

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Joe Pool Lake
06/26/2006 7:39 AM Pacific Time

Yestarday, We were cruising along nicely and a strong gust healed us a good bit. I am just curious how forgiving this little boat is. Also I would like to know, the "no no's." Ive sailed years ago, and I am kinda new to it again. Anyway, any thoughts would be nice. Thanks. Chris.
Michael Smalter
Webster, NY

Boat Name: Marrakesh

Model/Year: 1986

Hull No. 13645

Hailing Port: Rochester, NY
06/26/2006 5:58 PM Pacific Time

C22's are tough little boats. I've been knocked down twice on mine, and was standing on the vertical part of the cockpit seat across from me. Once the boat heels that much, you lose the wind and the boats comes back to vertical. I've heard that in wavy conditions, you can get water into the cockpit/cabin when it heels that much, but I never experienced that problem. If in doubt, put the hatch boards in.

The only No-No with the boat is don't back fast without your hand on the tiller. The rudder is not balanced, and will flip hard over to port or starboard when backing if you don't hold the tiller.
Christopher Dube
Mansfield Texas

Hull No.

06/26/2006 6:20 PM Pacific Time

Thanks Michael. I know this was a stupid question, but I feel better that I asked. I figured that would be the case. the lake I am sailing on has these spots that create gusting areas. I found them yesterday. I will be on the lookout for them in the future. We had the windows awash for a few seconds there. It was kinda fun, but Im glad the wife was not with us. Anyway, Thanks. Chris.....
Dick King
Melbourne, FL

Boat Name: Twilight Zone

Model/Year: Sport/2005

Hull No. 15546

Hailing Port: Melbourne, FL
06/27/2006 5:46 AM Pacific Time