Racing

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Racing / Speed Log

Author Speed Log
Russ Hauser
Tavares, FL

Boat Name: Serenity Now!

Model/Year: 1982

Hull No. CTYH1337M82L

Hailing Port: Lake Harris
08/29/2006 1:41 AM Pacific Time

I'm a newbie asking for advice. Seems to me that if you're serious about racing and want the to know if you're getting the best performance from your boat, you need to know boat speed thru the water, and you need a thru hull speed log for that. Right? I've been told that all I need is a GPS. This would give me speed over the bottom, and would relate to navigation, but not necessalarily to speed thru the water.
rick
Waukesha, WI.

Boat Name: Gotta Fly

Model/Year: Cat-22/1987

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Milwaukee
08/30/2006 1:41 PM Pacific Time

Sounds like you are just looking for a baseline to determine what is effectively increasing your speed. In that case, it wouldn't really matter as long as you consistantly use that source for your speed. Personally, I am a traditionalist and prefer my knotmeter, although I would think a GPS would be more accurate.

This brings up another issue that I am sure has been debated over time.....a knotmeter reads relative movement through the water. If the boat was holding still in a 10 Knot current, a knowmeter would indicate 10 knots when you wouldn't actually be moving at all. A GPS doesn't have to worry about that. I am sure others will chime in.
Lynn Buchanan
Nevada City, CA

Boat Name: SAILYNN

Model/Year: SWING 1984

Hull No. 11994

Hailing Port: SCOTTS FLAT LAKE, CA
08/30/2006 6:08 PM Pacific Time

I've used both and as said earlier, it's all relative to the baseline. The kicker is how long of intervals do you get updates? On a GPS it's noticeably slower to get speed updates than if you have a knotlog. If your going to just cruise, the GPS is cheaper and will do what you need. If your going to seriously race, IMHO go with the knotlog.
David J. Pierce
Sunset, Louisiana