Sails

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Sails / Genoa and main end up on opposite tacks. What am I doing wrong?

Author Genoa and main end up on opposite tacks. What am I doing wrong?
John Wheeler
Sydney, New South Wales

Boat Name: Serene 2

Model/Year: Boomaroo 22 (C22 Mk I) 1976

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Sydney
09/25/2007 12:52 AM Pacific Time

I am a novice sailor and have been using the smallest jib on my C22 until recently. I have just tried using the larger two headsails (the largest is probably a 130 - 150% genoa), but have had quite a few problems with them.

The most difficult thing is that there seems to be a huge difference in the pointing angle between the mainsail and the headsail - so much so that the headsail will often end up on the opposite tack to main, although sheeted on the wrong side, of course! I understand that this is what is needed to "heave-to", but isn't very helpful when trying to tack upwind!

With the smallest jib, both sails seem to luff at roughly the same angle to the wind, which seems correct. The pointing angle with the larger sail is very disappointing - I'm probably tacking through 120 -130 degrees.

Is there anything I can do to improve matters? Is this experience normal or have I got something set up wrong? My boat has inner jib lead tracks, which I am using. Is it normal form a larger headsail to have less upwind pointing ability?

The other problem is that tacking the large headsail seems to be real struggle in light winds. I have PVC rollers over the forward lower shrouds, but even so, I find the jib sheets get caught up in the cap shrouds, and on one occasion, the captive shackle that connects to the headsail clew came undone due to all the abuse it was getting.

What is the secret of smooth (and efficient) tacking with an overlapping headsail?

Thanks for your help!

John
Sydney, Australia.
Mitch Kronowit
Mission Viejo, CA

Boat Name: Paulina

Model/Year: 1984 Catalina 22

Hull No. #12276