Hull / Keel / Rudder / Tiller

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Hull / Keel / Rudder / Tiller / Keel lock down bolt stuck

Author Keel lock down bolt stuck
Kim Walker
Azle, Texas

Boat Name: Nutshell

Model/Year: C22/1982

Hull No. 10901

Hailing Port: Eagle Mountain Lake, Fort Worth, Texas
02/27/2004 7:58 PM Pacific Time

My keel lock down bolt is rusted in the unlocked position. I really would like to get this unstuck, preferably without hauling the boat. I have been spraying it with Kroil regularly for about 6 months without any improvement. It won't move at all. Does anyone have any helpful tips? I have been afraid to use heat, as I don't want to damage the fiberglass. If I have to pull the boat, what technique would be the best bet?

Mike Bracket
Clinton Twp, MI

Boat Name: Gunsmoke

Model/Year: 1979

Hull No. 9150

Hailing Port: Lake St Clair MI
02/28/2004 5:14 AM Pacific Time

If you havent got the thing released by now, you will likely have to haul the boat. But thats the easy part. Dropping the keel and removing the bolt and anchor strap is the hard part!!. As long as the keel will raise and lower, forget about the locking bolt and just go sailing.
If the keel wont go up and down, you will have to do the complete repair.
Austin Cooley
Honeoye Falls, NY

Boat Name: Wings of the Morning

Model/Year: Catalina 22, 1983

Hull No. 11602

Hailing Port: Keuka Lake, Branchport, NY
02/28/2004 7:50 AM Pacific Time

Don't worry about not being able to lock the keel, at least for most sailing. Be patient and start applying penetating oil. WD-40 is good for a lot of things, but it isn't as good a penetrating oil as liquid wrench, or even better, a product called Liquid Torch made by Castle Chemical Co. Tap gently every now and then and be patient.
Noah Oden
Dana Point, CA

Boat Name: Noah's Ark

Model/Year: 1976 C22

Hull No. 6588

Hailing Port: Dana Point, CA
02/28/2004 8:40 AM Pacific Time