Running Rigging

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Running Rigging / What is the use of the mast winch?

Author What is the use of the mast winch?
Tim Seguy
Alpharetta, GA

Boat Name: Blues Breaker

Model/Year: 1974

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Aqualand
03/10/2008 8:15 PM Pacific Time

I'm new to keel boat sailing and have recently acquired a 1974 C22. I'm trying to determine the use of the winch on the mast. I haven't needed it to raise the main or foresail, so I was wondering if I'm missing some key function. Also, does it have a specific winch handle? The design is different than the winches that are port and starboard aft.

Thanks.
Al Gearing
Burleson, Texas

Boat Name: Torch of Freedom

Model/Year: C-22/'76

Hull No. 6448

Hailing Port: Arlington YC
03/11/2008 5:50 AM Pacific Time

It sounds like you may have an old Merriam winch which takes a 'blade' handle. They are locked in place by a spring pin in the center of the winch. Use to get a finger caught every once in a while. They are a heavy marine bronze and worked for years, until some one came up with the 3/4" square drive from the top, in the '60's, which is a lot more convenient.
For what it's worth,
Al Ge
Greg Baker
Charlotte, NC

Boat Name: Sea Sharp Minor

Model/Year: Catalina 22 - 1984 - Swing Keel

Hull No. 11823

Hailing Port: Lake Norman Sailing Club
03/11/2008 7:43 AM Pacific Time

The purpose of the winch on the mast is to tension the jib halyard. It should be in line with the jib cleat so just take about three turns on the winch with the halyard before going to the clete. The foresail is harder to tension then the main since the main usually has a cunningham to do the final tension adjustment and the jib does not. That is why the winch is often used there.

That winch, along with a gin pole and the jib halyard is a handy way to raise and lower the mast as well.

Greg Baker
Al Gearing
Burleson, Texas

Hull No. 6448

03/12/2008 7:13 AM Pacific Time