Miscellaneous

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Miscellaneous / Hull # History

Author Hull # History
Andrew Shaw
Vero Beach, FL

Boat Name: Sunny Daze

Model/Year: C-22 1971

Hull No. 851

Hailing Port: Vero Beach, FL
03/01/2004 6:26 PM Pacific Time

I am the owner of C22 #851, and was wondering how that ranks among remaining C22's. Can anyone offer any info?
Captain Miles Ashley
Chincoteague Island, Virginia

Boat Name: Dragonass

Model/Year: 1972

Hull No. #940

Hailing Port: Chincoteague Island Marina on Main Street
03/02/2004 4:50 AM Pacific Time

I've been running Hull number 940 for the past 5 years and love it. It seems to run well when lightly loaded. No blisters, but I did do a bottom job w/ 6 coats West System Barier Coat during restoration in 1999. I've done most all CD upgrades and this year I'm replacing headsail and roller reefing. Run Autotiller. Use Bimini a lot too. Need to do interior cusions next. Electrical completely re-designed with solar panel. This boat is perfect for my area and I sail the channels to the Ocean. Charter with couples.
Dick King
Melbourne, FL

Boat Name: Twilight Zone

Model/Year: Sport/2005

Hull No. 15546

Hailing Port: Melbourne, FL
03/02/2004 5:08 AM Pacific Time

Andrew - Old boats are alive and well. For example, about 8-10 boats of the 24 entries in the recent Catalina 22 Midwinter Regatta were older than yours. One beautifully restored boat was hull number 76. It is aptly named Spirit of 76. Several were in the 200s and a couple in the low 800s.
Here is a list of boats in the National Association and their corresponding years. http://www.catalina22.org/techtips/sailnumbers.htm

Here are some photos of early hull numbers (and later ones in action./
http://www.catalina22.org/c22pics/index.htm
Dick King
Melbourne, FL

Boat Name: Twilight Zone

Model/Year: Sport/2005

Hull No. 15546

Hailing Port: Melbourne, FL
03/02/2004 5:10 AM Pacific Time