Sails

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Sails / Do I need battons & what do they do

Author Do I need battons & what do they do
Tom Curcio
Lake St Louis, MO

Boat Name: The Rose

Model/Year: 2005 Catalina 22 MKII

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
06/04/2008 12:07 PM Pacific Time

I am a novice sailor who just purchased a Catalina 22 MKII. One of the battons is missing and the previous owner said he planned to sail without them. He ripped a hole in the main with one of them. What do they do and why or when would Ineed htem?
Bob Conway
Huber Heights, Ohio

Boat Name: Spindrift

Model/Year: C22/1979

Hull No. #8717

Hailing Port: Buck Creek, Ohio
06/04/2008 1:30 PM Pacific Time

Tom,

Find a local sail maker and get it repaired. Yes you do need the battens. They are an important part of creating and maintaining proper sail shape. Also, without them you will not only not be able to get the best performance from your mainsail, you will also destroy it because the roach of the sail will flap uncrolled in the wind.

Get on the internet. There is a lot of information on sails and sail shape. It will help you to maintain your sails, to improve your sailing and to get full enjoyment from your boat. :-)

Bob
Bob Conway
Huber Heights, Ohio

Boat Name: Spindrift

Model/Year: C22/1979

Hull No. #8717

Hailing Port: Buck Creek, Ohio
06/04/2008 1:31 PM Pacific Time

Sorry, that is uncontrolled, not uncrolled.

My fingers just do not spell very well. ;-)
David Torrisi
Santa Clara, CA

Boat Name: Dumbo

Model/Year: 1975 C-22

Hull No. 4330

Hailing Port: Santa Clara
06/04/2008 2:02 PM Pacific Time

Battens are good to have if your sail is designed for them. Sailing a few times in moderate air won't destroy the sail, but over time, it will blow out the leech prematurely.

Sailrite.com has all the supplies if you'd like to do it yourself.

David
www.c22region10.org
Jim Sherwood
Westerville, Ohio

Boat Name: Who Cares

Model/Year: 1972

Hull No. 2186