Hull / Keel / Rudder / Tiller

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Hull / Keel / Rudder / Tiller / Help Please! I think I just got ripped off!

Author Help Please! I think I just got ripped off!
Monica A Rodriguez
Portland, Oregon

Boat Name: Mar y Sol

Model/Year: 1977

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Portland
07/07/2009 7:18 PM Pacific Time

I bought what I thought was a sound 1977 22' Catalina
I am a novice but this guy swore the boat was in good condition.
I went over it on a trailer, never saw it on the water.
He seems like a legitimate guy.
I was cleaning it today and took off the back teak plate next to the keel and saw
the wood was completely degenerated on the galley side.
Also the fiberglass was pulled away from the wall and as I reached my hand between I got a handful of wood chips.
I suspect the boat has water damage. I paid $2800 for boat and rustish trailer.
Did I just blow all my $$$ on a bad beat?

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
07/08/2009 7:45 AM Pacific Time

Hi Monica, Not sure what you are describing. Where was the "teak Plate" you took off, port, starboard, step, etc? There are some gaps between the liner and the hull, but I am not sure where wood chips would come from.

Peter
South Daytona, Florida

Boat Name: (Working On A Name)

Model/Year: C-22, 1974

Hull No. 2679

Hailing Port: South Daytona, Florida
07/08/2009 8:16 AM Pacific Time

Hi Monica, is it possible for you to post some pictures? The Catalina 22 is a well supported boat, and often what seems like a big problem is really a simply fix.
Robert Donehoo
Duluth Ga

Boat Name: Shady Deal

Model/Year: Catalina 22 1979

Hull No. 8940

Hailing Port: Lake Lanier Ga
07/08/2009 8:36 AM Pacific Time