Miscellaneous

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Miscellaneous / Buying my first Cat 22 advice

Author Buying my first Cat 22 advice
Doug
Santee, CA

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port: San Diego
08/05/2009 7:26 AM Pacific Time

I've been sailing a Capri with my sailing club for a couple of years and now I want to buy my own. My wife and I will mainly sail in the harbors of So. California. First, what is the difference between the Capri and the MKII. I will be trailoring part of the year so what keel do you suggest. And, do you know if you can buy a Cat directly from the factory, or boat show for a discount.
Robert Donehoo
Duluth Ga

Boat Name: Shady Deal

Model/Year: Catalina 22 1979

Hull No. 8940

Hailing Port: Lake Lanier Ga
08/05/2009 1:32 PM Pacific Time

Capri is a racer with a long fin keel and a little sparce on comfort. the MKII is either a wing keel or retractable swing keel. If you plan on mainly cruising go
with a MKII wing keel. The MKII is wider at the deck by 8" and has lots of room
below. The keel is fixed so the maintainence is lower than a swing keel and it can sail in about 3' of water. Your wife will like this boat the best. Catalina also
makes a sport which is kind of a cross between the Capri and and a swing keel.
There is a large national org that covers the "old style" 1970-early 80s,"new style
1986- , the sport and MKII. This advice depends on what type of sailing you will be doing but no matter which model the C22 is a very easy to sail, forgiving, tough little boat. I cruise a 1985 "new style" on the northern gulf coast cruise and
a fall cruise every year since 2002. I have a 1979 for racing and a 1977 for loaning to friends that want to learn. most of the cruisers aspire to own a MKII.
Join the national org. the magazine, news and free advise is more the worth it.
There are almost 16,000 C22s made so you will make a few new friends on the water.
Doug
Santee, CA

Boat Name:

Model/Year: