Miscellaneous

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Miscellaneous / New to Sailing

Author New to Sailing
Dwayne Guidry
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana

Boat Name:

Model/Year: 1983 Catalina 22

Hull No. CTYH1458M83

Hailing Port: Lake Arthur La.
03/19/2004 5:13 AM Pacific Time

Help!!
I'm very new to sailing. I've been sailing once a very long time ago and I fell in love with it.
I recently bought a Catalina 22 and I can't wait to take her out.
My problem is I don't know what all of the whatumadoodles or for I dont know how to raise the sails are not too much else for that matter.
I do know how to step the mast but not much else after that.
Can anyone help maybe with some pictures are a web site?
Thanks
Dwayne
Louis Plaisance
PRAIRIEVILLE, LA

Boat Name: Saint Benedict

Model/Year: C22/1988

Hull No. 14686

Hailing Port: Lake PONTCHARTRAIN, LA
03/19/2004 7:34 PM Pacific Time

Hello Dwayne,
Go to the TrailerSailor site and hook up with Shane ? and Jeff ? They are Louisiana boys from your neck of the swamp and very active on this site. They will help you. They sail West Cote Blanche and Vermilion.
Neither are Catalina guys, but both are good, friendly and helpful sailors nevertheless.

ljp
Saint Benedict, #14686
Man....I love that little boat.
Dwayne Guidry
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana

Boat Name:

Model/Year: 1983 Catalina 22

Hull No. CTYH1458M83

Hailing Port: Lake Arthur La.
03/21/2004 9:46 AM Pacific Time

Thanks Louis
I hooked up with Jeff and I am getting some very useful info.
Thanks again.
Dwayne
R. C. Luiken
Milford, DE

Boat Name: Ricochet

Model/Year: C-22 Swing Keel/1986

Hull No. 13560

Hailing Port: Milford, DE/St. Michaels, MD
03/21/2004 2:41 PM Pacific Time

Dwayne: I'll be in Scott around the 17th of April. If you want to talk contact me off list at: [email protected].
Dan Plank
Cullman, AL

Boat Name: Half Fast

Model/Year: C-22 / 1989

Hull No. 14855

Hailing Port: Guntersville, AL
03/30/2004 4:38 PM Pacific Time