Racing

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Racing / "Abandon Race" Flag?

Author "Abandon Race" Flag?
Greg Mason
Manchester, N.H.

Boat Name: Natural

Model/Year: Catalina 30 - 1984

Hull No. 4992

Hailing Port: Casco Bay, Maine
10/10/2010 6:58 PM Pacific Time

I have been racing a Cat22 since 2005. I typically finish a race anywhere from 5 to 10 minutes behind the rest of the 22's where I race.

I've been getting some negative feedback from the race committee, because the late finishes are "holding up the works". I was thinking I could arrange with the committee for me to hoist some sort of "abandon race" flag so they could "DNF" me and move on to the next race.

Before I suggest this to the committee, I was wondering if there was an official flag for this purpose?

Thanks!
David Hewitt
El Dorado Hills, CA

Boat Name:

Model/Year: C22/1986

Hull No. 13153

Hailing Port: Folsom Lake Marina
10/10/2010 10:01 PM Pacific Time

Greg-
Boy, your YC must not care about attracting new racers if they are going to claim folks 5-10 minutes behind the pack are "holding up the works". You shouldn't be forced to abandon if you fall behind, it's the RC's problem to publish a Time Limit in the SIs. My YC's Time Limit is as follows:

TIME LIMIT: The leading boat of a class must finish within 2.5 hours from the start of her class. The remaining boats must
finish within one hour of the leading boat of that class. Those boats not finishing within these times will be scored “DNF.” This
changes Rule 35.

I have to admit, if I had to wait 1 hr for boats to finish I'd get a little cranky, but at least everyone understands the ground rules.
Dave
Glenn Warner
Jacksonville Florida

Boat Name: Goblin/JuJu

Model/Year: 1981/1972

Hull No. 10369/1222

Hailing Port: Jacksonville Florida
10/11/2010 12:58 AM Pacific Time

David is right here, your RC is WAY off base. They need to put it in the Sailing Instructions or back off.
Greg Mason
Manchester, N.H.

Hull No. 4992