Sails

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Sails / Total Newb - Mainsail/Boom rigging

Author Total Newb - Mainsail/Boom rigging
Erin
Austin, TX

Boat Name: ??

Model/Year: 1974

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
09/27/2013 3:39 PM Pacific Time

Howdy folks,

I have a new to me C22 (1974) that hasn't been sailed in a long time. The previous owner I bought it from had now idea how to rig it, so it's been a learning experience. We've finally gotten the mast up and are just having an issue nailing down the boom configuration. The nearest I can tell there is a short cable attached to the backstay that holds the aft portion of the boom up, but this prevents the boom from swinging much to port/stbd. Am I correct in assuming this should be detached once the main is up? I've been a bit nervous to try it but don't se another way this could work.

Apologies for the simplistic question.

Kevin M. Morton
Sacramento, Ca

Boat Name: Serenity

Model/Year: 1976 C27SR

Hull No. 2366

Hailing Port: Richmond, Ca
09/30/2013 10:00 AM Pacific Time

That wire is called a pigtail. Its purpose is to support the boom while raising or lowering your mains'. There are three ways to support the boom, and the pigtail is the way I like the least. One of the problems with a pigtail is this:

Picture the boat in irons, so you can raise/lower the main. If the boat drifts off course or if the wind shifts during this task, the boom will want to re-align to point into the wind. The pigtail would prevent the boom from moving more than about a foot or so to either side. Once the boom has traveled as far as the pigtail will allow it, the next thing that might happen is the boat could be knocked over into a capsize. At the very least, the boom is now pulling tight against the pigtail/backstay, and is difficult (and unsafe) to disengage under that load.