Running Rigging

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Running Rigging / Confusion on rigging main/downhaul/reefing.

Author Confusion on rigging main/downhaul/reefing.
Duncan
Wiltshire UK

Boat Name: North Star

Model/Year: Catalina 22 1991

Hull No. 15197

Hailing Port: Ullswater UK
01/03/2014 2:18 AM Pacific Time

Hi Everyone

Firstly happy new year to all

This is my first post to this site as I am a relative newbie to it and C22's having bought boat # 15197 North Star, a 1991 boat, mid of last year. Having played around on it for last summer I now have it at home in a barn doing a significant amount of maintenance, refurb and improvements which I am enjoying almost as much as sailing it! So it's great to find this forum as we don't have that many C22's here in the UK and I have already got many tips. ideas etc just from reading existing threads and you guys collective experience. Anyway I now have some questions of my own and hope you can give some advise. My main query is on the best way to set up the mainsail as I regularly sail single handed and need to be able to control the main from the cockpit. Get yourself a cup of tea, sit back comfortably and let me explain.

The gooseneck on my boom is floating ie it is not fixed in a static position on the mast but is free to move up and down the sail track which I think is standard on C22's. It also has a short line tied to a hoop on the underside of the gooseneck. When I raise the main I hoist it as far up as it can go and tie off. I then secure the short line under the gooseneck to a cleat lower down the mast which tensions the luff but this means there is no ability to adjust the luff tension without going forward.