Sails

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Sails / Older roller furling

Author Older roller furling
Terry Keasler
Tallahassee, FL

Boat Name:

Model/Year: Catalina 22 1987

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
08/23/2004 11:17 AM Pacific Time

Greetings to all! I am a new member of this forum as well as a proud new owner of a 1987 Catalina 22. I am also new to sailing but my wife and I are looking forward to the adventure of learning.

My question is with respect to the rollrer furling. The previous owner indicated that the furler is of 1987 vintage and that it did not work the same as a modern one. In fact, the 150 genoa is an all or nothing deal where the sail is completely rolled up or completely out...nothing in between. This seems to defeat the purpose of a roller furling even in 1987. Did this fellow simply not know how to operate the equipment or is this really the case? I have not looked closely at the furler yet to see the brand or model but any thoughts anyone has would be appreciated.
Thanks
Terry
Michael Smalter
Webster, NY

Boat Name: Marrakesh

Model/Year: 1986

Hull No. 13645

Hailing Port: Rochester, NY
08/23/2004 2:14 PM Pacific Time

There is roller furling (designed to store the sail and deploy it without having to go on the foredeck), and roller reefing (can furl or stop with the sail partially retracted, ie reefed).

The previous owner is probably right in his description. If you only have 1 sail, roller furling is still more convenient than hank on sails (which generally can't be reefed either).
Dick King
Melbourne, FL

Boat Name: Twilight Zone

Model/Year: Sport/2005

Hull No. 15546

Hailing Port: Melbourne, FL
08/24/2004 6:00 AM Pacific Time