Cruising Areas

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Cruising Areas / Mexican Gulf Sailing

Author Mexican Gulf Sailing
Lance Anderson
Kenai, Alaska

Boat Name:

Model/Year: 1973

Hull No. 2367

Hailing Port: Kenai, Alaska
01/06/2004 12:41 PM Pacific Time

Sorry bout the double. I'm still learning to use this thing.
--Someone recently was talking about sailing around the Baja. Last months "Sailing" had a decent article on this. It was a trailer sailing special issue. Pretty cool to see our world discussed in depth in such a fine rag.
Lance
C22#2367
Ann #8236, La Buena Vita
Phoenix, Arizona

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
01/06/2004 4:26 PM Pacific Time

Thanks for the tip. We are currently sailing in Arizona but hope to "spread our wings" soon...

Ann
La Buena Vita
Bruce Landolt
Bend, Oregon

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
01/11/2004 6:23 PM Pacific Time

The Admiral and I just got home lastnight from sailing for two weeks on the sea of Cortez at San Carlos, Sonora, Mexico. We did not venture very far off the coast. Mostly sailed in water somewhat protected from the heavy NW winds that blew most afternoons. We would have done more gunkholing, but Sandi was sick with the flu most of the trip, so we kept a slip in the beautiful Marina San Carlos, with water and electric hookup, for $12 per night. We were a little unlucky with the weather, as it was unsually cold while we were there. In fact, it hit 17 degrees in Tucan Az the night after we went by. But we still had 70 most days. The sailing was 100 times better then sitting in Sassi in my back yard watching it snow. If anyone has questions, I will hang in awhile on the thread. I am not sure at this point if I am going to continue with the new forum. I cannot figure out how to read the messages off line. I do not have unlimited i-net service, and can't afford to stay on line long enpough to read and reply to e-mail.
Jim Holliday
Siloam Springs, Arkansas