Engine

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Engine / Electric outboard engine

Author Electric outboard engine
Moe
Phoenix

Boat Name: catalina

Model/Year: 1974

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
04/25/2005 12:11 AM Pacific Time

Hi,
Need help to decide on buying a Minn kota trolling motor to use as an outboard on my C22 on a lake where only electric outboards are allowed. Can these trolling motors be used on sail boats. Any experience with that. What shaft and power to buy. I looked at RIPTIDE 80Lb thrust 24 volt 46 or 52 inch shaft. Is that enough for a c22. How do I connect the batteries. Any help is appreciated. I am new to this stuff.
Thanks, Moe.

Kevin Jay Clark
Grandview, MO

Boat Name: Bompa's Girl

Model/Year: Catalina 22/1979

Hull No. 8716

Hailing Port: Lake Jacomo, Missouri
04/06/2006 7:20 AM Pacific Time

Howdy Moe,
This is Kevin, we bought a '79 C22 last fall. At that time the only thing I had for power was a SMALL Minkota (18 lbs. thrust) so we gave it a try. Now this is out first larger boat (I used to sail a force five many years ago) and we hadn't been sailing for over ten years so we were not in any great big hurry. However I was amazed at how well this little thing can push the boat. Somewhere I read that a 50 lbs. thrust equalls about 3 to 5 hoursepower. I have absolutely no idea if that is correct but the fishing people should be able to tell you. Since this was a tempory thing I just set the battery in the bottom of a case and set it in the foot well. Good luck, Kevin

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
04/23/2006 6:51 AM Pacific Time

I would also ne interested in what you find out about electric motors. I have a 17 pound thrust I tested on a small inflatable, but it just wasn't enough power to handle the combined effects of small current, wind, and small chop.
Terry
Atlanta, Ga

Boat Name: Fish Eagle

Model/Year: C25 1983

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
05/11/2009 6:53 PM Pacific Time