Hull / Keel / Rudder / Tiller

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Hull / Keel / Rudder / Tiller / Topside Paint

Author Topside Paint
Andrew Shaw
Vero Beach, FL

Boat Name: Sunny Daze

Model/Year: C-22 1971

Hull No. 851

Hailing Port: Vero Beach, FL
02/16/2004 5:21 PM Pacific Time

Im currently pondering repainting over the original 1971 paint job. I have limited experience in topside paint and am looking for any advice or tips learned along the way. My non-skid is early 80s matted style.
Noah Oden
Dana Point, CA

Boat Name: Noah's Ark

Model/Year: 1976 C22

Hull No. 6588

Hailing Port: Dana Point, CA
02/17/2004 2:16 PM Pacific Time

When I bought my boat the previous owner had painted the decks. They looked nice. Good job. The can of paint he used was among all the goodies that came with the boat. I never really looked at the paint, but thought it was some kind of boat paint. Later when I went through all the stuff I found out it was just paint from Home Depot. Juat an acrylic(?) paint. The paint still looks great after a year and a half.
Dick Reynolds
Lebanon, Oregon

Boat Name: Catnip

Model/Year: Swing Keel / 1974

Hull No. 4570

Hailing Port: Newport, Oregon
02/17/2004 11:06 PM Pacific Time

I painted my fishing boat with EASYPOXY five years ago and it's held up real well.
Lynn Buchanan
Nevada City, CA

Boat Name: SAILYNN

Model/Year: SWING 1984

Hull No. 11994

Hailing Port: SCOTTS FLAT LAKE, CA
04/24/2004 9:44 PM Pacific Time

My husband Dale is repainting my 1973 boat #2431 Sailynn. On the non skid deck he is using the color "Squall Blue" from Interlux Interdeck. It has a non skid texture to the paint and goes on the non skid (waffle patterned) or can also be painted on the smooth part of the deck. He is painting the sides with Interlux Brightside Poly Urethane in the color White. Interlux has a website and telephone staff to answer any questions you might have.
Lance Anderson
Kenai, Alaska

Boat Name:

Model/Year: 1973