Maintenance

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Maintenance / Bottom Paint ??????????????

Author Bottom Paint ??????????????
Christopher Dube
Mansfield Texas

Boat Name: Gypsey Girl

Model/Year: C-22 1977

Hull No.

Hailing Port: Joe Pool Lake
03/02/2007 8:11 AM Pacific Time

Ok guys and gals, Its bottom paint time for my little gem. I know nothing about Marine Anti Fowling Paints. I am a mechanic , and a do it your self type. What I would like to know , is as follows. The bottom paint that is on the boat now is of the depleteing type. Rub it with a brush and it comes right off. I find this kinda weird , however I do understand the concept. I would like to know if I could switch to a hard type paint and just keep it clean. I mean a hard "bottom paint". Also, I have heard that Kiam Pepper mixed in with bottom paint prevents Alge. Would this be true? My boat is kept in fresh water in Texas. Any info is mucho welcome. Thanks. Chris.........
Lynn Buchanan
Nevada City, CA

Boat Name: SAILYNN

Model/Year: SWING 1984

Hull No. 11994

Hailing Port: SCOTTS FLAT LAKE, CA
03/02/2007 11:50 PM Pacific Time

If you are going to trailer sail, keeping it on the trailer from season to season you would probably go with an ablative paint which sounds what is on there now. It's still functioning if it wipes off. If you keep the boat in the water all the time you will probably want to go with a paint that makes it easier to get rid of the critters and algee. There are so many bottom finishes, so unless we knew your exact circumstances such as cruising, racing, trailer sailor, permanent mooring, sailt water, fresh water, etc. it would be hard to recommend a product.
Al Gearing
Burleson, Texas

Boat Name: Torch of Freedom

Model/Year: C-22 '76

Hull No. 6448

Hailing Port: Arlington YC
03/03/2007 12:13 PM Pacific Time