Hull / Keel / Rudder / Tiller

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Hull / Keel / Rudder / Tiller / Catalina 22 Rudder weight

Author Catalina 22 Rudder weight
Marsha Duggan
Lacombe, Alberta Canada

Boat Name:

Model/Year: 1990

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
08/03/2007 8:55 AM Pacific Time

I am an very novice older female sailor wanting to be independent of my husbands assistance each time I want to sail. My limitation is specifically the weight of the rudder which currently has to be taken on and off each time. I have no desire to be a speed demon, just love being on the water in light winds.

Is there a rudder which is either much lighter or a type of rudder that does not have to be removed when mooring?
Mitch Kronowit
Mission Viejo, CA

Boat Name: Paulina

Model/Year: 1984 Catalina 22

Hull No. #12276

Hailing Port: Dana Point, CA
08/13/2007 12:50 AM Pacific Time

Hey Marsha, I'm not so sure you have to remove the rudder every time if you're mooring it. Many sailors in my harbor (including me) leave the rudder attached, with a coat of anti-fouling paint, of course. Every 2 weeks or so, I brush the thin algae growth off.
Steve Ott
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Boat Name: Catalina 22 Swing Keel

Model/Year: 1977

Hull No. 6798

Hailing Port: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
01/12/2008 9:41 PM Pacific Time

Maybe get a swing rudder that can kick up?
Lynn Van Hooser
Arlington, Texas

Boat Name: High Maintenance

Model/Year: C-22/1973

Hull No. 2902

Hailing Port: Lake Arlington Yacht Club
02/10/2008 6:57 AM Pacific Time

Marsha,