Cruising Issues

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Cruising Issues / Getting tossed around in the channel....help!

Author Getting tossed around in the channel....help!
Jeff Nash
New Buffalo, Michigan

Boat Name: Decien

Model/Year: Catalina 22 1981

Hull No. MC 0888 TC

Hailing Port: St. Joseph Michigan
09/30/2007 7:17 PM Pacific Time

I am a rookie sailor and have a Catalina 22. As many of you know, she has a swing keel and no ballast. On several occasions I have motored out the channel heading out from my berth into lower Lake Michigan and even on nice not so windy days I have been tossed around like a cork by 1-2 foot swells and my passengers beg me to turn back and it ruins a day of sailing and, I admit, I too get nervouse. Is there a risk of capsizing or should I just push thru? I see other sailboats and even smaller motor boats get thru it ok. Am I being too quickly discouraged? Usually the lake looks fine, but the last 200 meters of the channel sometimes sends me into 5-10 degree lists that feel scarey.
Matt Cristantello
Buffalo, NY

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
10/03/2007 3:15 PM Pacific Time

Hi,

I don't actually have a Cat-22, but I'd like to someday. I've been out on one a few times, and I know that we were at no risk of capsizing at a 10-15% heel with the keel down. If you have the keel up, the boat will probably behave differently, so try putting it down if you can. If you look around the rest of the forums here about the seaworthiness of the Cat-22 and it recovering from a complete knockdown, I wouldn't worry about bouncing in the waves as long as your keel is locked down.

Hope this helps,
~Matt
Bilbo
Youngstown, Ohio

Boat Name: Sea Dog

Model/Year: Catalina 22 1987

Hull No. 13971

Hailing Port: Andover, Ohio
10/03/2007 7:27 PM Pacific Time

Hi I sympathize with you but concur with Matt.
These boats sail with best speed at about 15 degrees heel.