Miscellaneous

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Miscellaneous / Launching/Retrieving a Wing Keel?

Author Launching/Retrieving a Wing Keel?
Bajaman
Hemet, CA

Boat Name:

Model/Year: 1990 Wing

Hull No. 15155

Hailing Port: San Diego/Los Angeles, CA
12/30/2007 10:27 PM Pacific Time

I am getting ready to launch/retrieve my new to me wing keel. I have a few questions about the process. Since it is my first time I was considering using my extend a tongue to its full length for launch and retrieval, just to be sure I get boat deep enough.

1. As I back down and see boat beginning to float, can I either walk boat off trailer using docking lines and walking along dock, or be in boat before launch and start engine and place in reverse (my engine is brand new -this will be first time fired up-so I don't know exactly how she'll run)?

2. During retrieval I will back down trailer to as close to the position/depth as trailer was during launch. Since trailer will be fairly deep (tongue extension), how does one get to winch and strap and connect to bow eye and begin cranking boat up to bow stop? I am assuming the winch would at about a 2' depth of water if one had to wade into water.

3. Once strap is connected to bow eye and boat is cranked in to bow stop, is it ready to be pulled out by tow vehicle? Any other security measures?

Thanks!

Tony Pacaro
Lansdale, PA

Boat Name: Provolone

Model/Year: Catalina 22, 1988

Hull No. 14733

Hailing Port: Quakertown, PA
12/31/2007 7:50 AM Pacific Time

I have a wing keel that I trailer regularly, and launch and retrieve single-handed. Here's what I do:

1. Tie long (25-30 ft) lines to the bow and stern mooring cleats. For the stern cleat, tie to the cleat on the side that the launch ramp dock is on. Coil both lines onto the trailer winch post so you can get to them after backing trailer down the ramp.

2. Extend trailer tongue fully.