Miscellaneous

Catalina Direct Discussion Topics / Catalina 22 Discussion Area / Miscellaneous / 2nd hand purchase questions

Author 2nd hand purchase questions
neil cookson
nefyn north wales uk

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
07/24/2004 6:52 AM Pacific Time

Friends,
I am new to sailing and have recently been offered first refusal on a friend of a friends Catalina 22. I dont really know what problem areas to check out. Are there any specific things I should check out on a 1979 Catalina 22?
Please dont blind me with too many technical terms but any advice would be gratefully received.
I've not done much more than mess about in dinghys so far & cant afford a survey as well as the boat so any advice will be gratefully received.

Thankyou Neil

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
07/24/2004 7:22 AM Pacific Time

Neil,
If the boat is in the water check all the knooks and crannies for any water leakage. If the boat is not in the water, have the owner put it in... personnally, I would not buy a boat that could not be checked for water integrity.
Second, walk around the deck surface and see if there are any "soft spots" where the deck feels spongy. That could be an indication of problems ahead.
Those are the 2 major things that I would do. Do you have anybody familiar with boats that can help you check it out?
Best of luck to you... let us know how you do.
neil cookson
nefyn north wales uk

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
07/24/2004 11:23 AM Pacific Time

Ken
Thanks for the help, I will let you know how I get on. I admit to poor knowledge and dont have anyone I know who could assist me with a decision so if anything else should occur to you I would be grateful if you post it on here,

Thanks Neil

Boat Name:

Model/Year:

Hull No.

Hailing Port:
07/24/2004 3:41 PM Pacific Time

Neil,

What is the asking price (pound sterling OK... we know that you are in the UK) for that '79.